From little things…

…big things grow.

I’ve loved weddings from the time I was old enough to articulate the words ‘pretty’ and ‘lady’.

My parents tell me I demanded to be read the names of newlywed couples from the Sunday papers as soon as I could talk. I needed to know their names, where they married and any other ephemera that accompanied the photographs.  Apparently every trip to the local library around the same time ended with me abandoning the picture books and presenting Mum with a pile of bridal magazines to take home.

By the time I hit three these measures were no longer enough to satisfy my bridal cravings and I wanted to see the real thing. Mum has strong (and possibly traumatic!) memories of lugging my then-infant sister and her stroller up the stairs behind me at Abbey Bridal in Brisbane, just so I could see a bride trying on her wedding dress.

As I matured, my fascination with weddings became less about the aesthetic and more about the significance of the event. Don’t get me wrong – I still love a beautifully styled wedding – but a matching invitation suite doesn’t excite me nearly as much as seeing and feeling the emotion of a couple in love.

It’s therefore no surprise that I became an authorised marriage celebrant in October 2010.

I did so because of my passion for love in all its forms – romantic, familial, platonic – and because I like contributing to the lives of others. I can think of no other way in which I’d rather do this.

Being a celebrant allows me a unique window into the world of two people in love as they celebrate their commitment to one another. It makes me ridiculously happy to be able to share in a couple’s joy; so much so that for days afterwards I’m still on a high. It’s not uncommon for me to turn to Dave, my partner, at the end of the day and say ‘Guess what? I MARRIED people today!’ (usually accompanied by a little dance).

Through this blog, I plan to share some of my stories and the stories of the couples it has been my privilege to marry.

I hope you’ll enjoy getting to know them as much as I have.

xx Koren

Comments

  1. Phil Haar says:

    So glad these were posted for us to share. Especially now as Farid passed away early Saturday morning. Farid was a beautiful man with a wonderful smile and positive outlook . He also shared those attributes with his beautiful Lisa.
    TAKEN FROM US TOO SOON BUT LIVED EVERY DAY WELL AND WITH LOVE!

  2. Indeed he was a beautiful man, Phil. After sharing in his and Lisa’s joy on their wedding day, it broke my heart to hear that Farid was no longer with us. May we all honour Farid by living as he did – with grace, courage and most of all, love.

Trackbacks

  1. […] been hanging around the blog for a while, you’ll know that I’ve loved weddings for longer than I can remember. As a toddler I couldn’t quite get my tongue around the sounds in the word […]

Leave a Reply

