Kiran and Lachlan

Part of the joy of being a celebrant is getting to know new people, however there’s also something very special about marrying someone you’ve known for years.

Kiran and I met in grade 4 and remained friends all through school. Travels and uni saw us lose touch after high school but through the wonders of Facebook we were able to reconnect as adults.

When I announced my intention to become a celebrant, I was pleasantly surprised to get an email from Kiran, who now lives overseas. Kiran and her fiance, Lachlan, were coming back to Australia to be married – would I be able to marry them?

To say I was chuffed would be an understatement. Kiran was the first friend I made when we moved to Melbourne and I never forgot her beautiful smile and generous spirit. It was a truly special feeling to be able to participate in the marriage of an old and dear friend.

The beautiful bride. Photo by Peter King.

As Kiran and Lachlan were returning to Sweden soon after their wedding, family and friends from all over Australia took the opportunity to join them in Melbourne for the celebration of their marriage.

Everyone assembled at a Melbourne restaurant late on a bright spring Sunday morning. The bride and groom circulated amongst their guests whilst a friend played violin before we called everyone together.

Lachlan and Kiran then became husband and wife in an intimate, relaxed ceremony that honoured their families, friends and their commitment to one another.

I love how happy Kiran looks as Lachlan says his vows. Photo by Peter King.

It was my absolute honour to be part of Kiran and Lachlan’s wedding day and it meant so much to me that my first experience as a celebrant was at the wedding of a friend.

And it reinforced to me that this is exactly what I want to be doing.
 
Always.
Kiran and Lachlan, 14 November 2010 
Photos: Peter King
Leave a Reply

