Sunshine all year round

Dave and I celebrated our third anniversary in June this year. It honestly feels like this boy has been in my life forever and yet like we’ve only just begun, so that we’ve clocked up 3 years almost took me by surprise.  We celebrated with dinner at one of our favourite restaurants and small gifts for each other.

Three years and counting...

In the early days we celebrated each ‘month-iversary’ with small tokens of our affection and special dinners out. Fast-forward to year 3 and occasionally one of us will bring home some chocolate, wine or a book for the other on the 6th of the month, but generally we save our gift-giving for the annual anniversary.

Which is why I was equally thrilled and dismayed when I saw this gorgeous print on Etsy from artist handz in January this year.

By Etsy vendor Handz

The bright colours and bold typeface instantly appealed to me and as Dave and I regularly sing (off-key, naturally) ‘You are my sunshine’ to one another, it seemed a perfect gift. And yet our anniversary was still 6 months away! How could I give it to Dave before then? What to do?

Well, I counted.

And worked out that we were coming up to 1,000 days of dating. Care to guess what Dave received when we hit that milestone?

Sunshine now graces our living room wall.

I also couldn’t help but think that this print would make beautiful engagement party/wedding decor, especially when paired with some of handz’s other retro -styled work. Then there’s the added bonus of being able to display them in your home afterwards!

Perfect as decor or a gift!

Now I just need to find more dates to celebrate – and some extra wall space!

Comments

  1. Oh.So.Sweet .. and what a cute couple you make!

    Hee hee .. love how your ‘versaries have diminished with age .. that’s ok though, it means you’re both comfortable and not high-maintenence. Good couples are ok with this.

    Love that print, and extra love that it means so much Xx

  2. Oh, thank you Lea – Dave will be glad to know someone other than myself and his mother thinks he’s cute!

    Yep, as time goes on it becomes more about just being with and enjoying one another than marking milestones. I can’t wait to wake up one day and say ‘wow, how did we get to 50 years already?’

Leave a Reply

