This ain’t a Supermarket Sweep

In May this year I married the beautiful Samantha and Phillip. There’s a post on their wedding coming soon, so I won’t give away too much about their day other than to say that it was as gorgeous as they are.

Phil sent me an email this week ‘for your website’.  Phil has quite a way with words (he wrote a poem cataloguing the history of their relationship and read it at the reception) and what he wrote both touched me deeply and made me laugh out loud. Read it below for yourself.

I recently attended a wedding where the couple was married by a middle-aged man with an interesting take on fashion. The combination of sporadic blonde tips, Burt Reynolds style moustache and slightly-longer-hair-at-the-back made him look more like a ’80s game show host than a marriage celebrant. Mid-way through the ceremony he started waffling on about the “love for one’s first car”- real romantic stuff. But in the words of the groom, “he was cheap”- seems you get what you pay for.

I don’t think most couples really consider the important role that the celebrant has to play on the wedding day. I know I didn’t – we just got very lucky. Growing up as a kid my parents used to joke “one day you’ll marry Koren Harvey”. I guess I never really considered the possibility that the reverse would literally come true. And so picking a celebrant was easy; one of our closest friends was prepared to do it and we weren’t prepared to look around! 

In all honesty the day would not have been the same without Koren. During the ceremony she made us feel like we were the only ones present. We are so grateful for the wonderful effort and performance Koren put in on our wedding day. We are grateful for her attention to detail, for her calming persona, for the professional delivery she put into every line and most importantly for the fact that she looks nothing like Ian Turpie. 

Thanks Koren, we are eternally grateful!
– Sam and Phil, married 21 May 2011.

Have I mentioned how much I love what I do, and the people I get to work with?

Photos: Red Butterfly Photography

Comments

  1. That is so funny!! I’ve seen some pretty .. unique.. celebrants, and yes, heard some .. unique.. deviations in their speeches. I would hate to be compared to a first car .. lol! Considering the first car is often cheap and replaced by a newer model, i’m really not sure that’s the analogy you want to be going for .. 😉

  2. I share your sentiments exactly, Lea! Also not sure I’d want any analogies with ‘going for a ride’, ‘balding’ (tires), ‘full of gas’… hmm. I might leave the Dad jokes there before I get carried away!

Leave a Reply

