Vintage Weddings

I turned twenty-something a few weeks ago and couldn’t resist a belated birthday present to myself when I stumbled across this beauty in Dymocks last week.

Vintage Weddings – one hundred years of bridal fashion and style had me at hello. Given my childhood love of all things bridal, it isn’t surprising really. What is is how well-written and researched this book is.

Leafing through the pages, I find myself getting caught up in trivia before devouring sketches and photos of bygone eras. Did you know, for example, that the Roman Catholic Church only approved the exchanging of rings between men and women in 1956? Up until this point, the Church took the view that only women should receive rings. Vintage Weddings closes with a summary of modern day designers and a ‘wedding planner’ to assist in achieving the wedding style you’re after. 

The dresses featured in this book are, quite simply, divine. A girlfriend of mine who has long professed no desire to ever marry her partner of many years picked it up and was enthralled by an Elsa Schiaparelli-inspired number from the 1930s. I’ve picked out my dream dress. Or two. Or seven.

Two girlfriends and I are going on a road trip to Bendigo next month to see The White Wedding Dress exhibition and this book has only served to heighten my excitement. There are just so many beautiful images and traditions captured within its pages.

Judging by the amount of people who’ve picked it up off our coffee table since I acquired it, I’ve a feeling Vintage Weddings will become a family heirloom.

If you’re married, about to be married, a history buff or simply a style devotee, this book is worth turning into a heirloom of your own.

Leave a Reply

