Happy birthday to us!

Today marks exactly one year since I became an authorised marriage celebrant.

WOOHOO!

East 13 Photography

I was so excited when I received the email stating that I had been authorised as a marriage celebrant by the Australian Attorney General’s Department. It was the culmination of many months of work and finger-crossing. Having loved weddings since I was a little girl, this feels like the role I was born to do.

I get asked – a lot – why I became a marriage celebrant. I should be used to the question by now but I always find myself pausing before I answer. Usually to catch my breath before launching into a long and enthusiastic explanation.

I have loved weddings ever since I can remember. When I was little, the dress was a big part of it (‘PRINCESS, Mummy, LOOK!’) but the older I got, the more it became about the sacredness of the occasion.

Put simply, I became a celebrant because I love love. I love seeing how happy a wedding makes not only the couple involved but their family and friends, too.

At my most recent wedding, the couple asked the bride’s aunty to pick or write something about their relationship. She wrote a beautiful piece from her heart that spoke about marriage and the path that lay ahead of them and they heard it for the first time on their wedding day. I was very glad I’d had the chance to read it before the day, else I would have been crying with them!

I love that I get to work with couples to articulate the depth of feeling they have for one another. I love that they trust me enough to let me be a part of that.

Most of all, I love the people I get to meet. Once you’re past your school years, the window for meeting new people becomes narrower and narrower. Every time I meet a new couple, I usually end up dancing around our living room, telling Dave that I want these people to be our FRIENDS!

I can honestly say that every single person I have met through my work as a celebrant is someone that I would be thrilled to have in my life as a friend. I’m so grateful that I have the opportunity to meet these people and be part of such a significant moment in their lives.

Thanks to everyone who has been along for the first year of the ride. You’ve made my year.

Here’s to many more! xx

Leave a Reply

