Naomi and Jason

Have you ever met a couple and thought that they fit so naturally together, there couldn’t possibly have ever been a time when they weren’t together? That there’s no way the world could have existed without them in each other’s orbit? Without them knowing and loving one another’s friends and family? Naomi and Jason are one of those couples.

Darin Collison Photography

Darin Collison Photography

Naomi and I met through Twitter. I can’t recall how exactly, I just remember that we were following each other and had a few wedding related chats that led to us meeting in person. And when we did, I felt as though I was catching up with old, great friends who I just hadn’t seen for a few years. We laughed and talked and laughed some more. They told me about their life together, their engagement and their plans for the wedding. By the time they left, I was crossing everything that they would choose me to be their celebrant. Happily for me, they did.

Darin Collison Photography

Darin Collison Photography

 

Naomi and Jason first met through work. Jason would find whatever excuse he could to talk to Naomi who was initially oblivious to his affections – she just thought he was the friendliest person in the company! He admits now that for at least half of their conversations he couldn’t remember a word that Naomi said to him, so entranced was he by her. Eventually, Naomi cottoned on (she, meanwhile, fancied Jason too!) and after drinks one night, their feelings for one another became clear.

Darin Collison Photography

Darin Collison Photography

Uncertain as to how their relationship would be viewed at work, they employed pseudonyms to use whenever they talked about one another. For several months, Naomi’s colleagues believed she had fallen head over heels for someone called Brian, while Jason was apparently deeply involved with someone named Claudia. When Jason left the company a few months later, they were finally able to come clean but the permanent smiles on their faces meant no one was very surprised.

Darin Collison Photography

Darin Collison Photography

Five years later, they married in spring at the rustically beautiful Potters Receptions. It was such an inclusive, warm and loving day that I still smile whenever I think about it. But that’s just who Naomi and Jason are. Warm, loving and inclusive –  and incredibly generous of spirit.

Their wedding rehearsal was not long after I had got engaged and the first thing Naomi did upon seeing me was pull me into a hug. She excitedly congratulated me then took me around to her Mum and bridesmaids to show off my ring. At her own wedding rehearsal. That’s just who she is.

Darin Collison Photography

Darin Collison Photography

On their wedding day, Naomi made her way down the aisle on the arm of her Dad to the strains of Pachelbel’s Canon in D. To describe her as radiantly beautiful would not do her justice. Jason lit up at the sight of her and from the moment she took her place next to him, their didn’t take their eyes off one another.

They had two readings, I Want to Grow Old With You (yes, from The Wedding Singer) and Wedding Vows. These two readings were a wonderful mix of the light-hearted and the heartfelt. We also retold a story Naomi’s Mum had once told her about the love she feels for Naomi’s Dad. Naomi said that once she met Jason, she suddenly understood what her Mum had been telling her all these years. Oh, were there tears then.

Darin Collison Photography

Darin Collison Photography

Naomi and Jason wrote their own vows and kept them secret from one another until the day.  I can still vividly recall Naomi’s lower lip trembling as Jason made his promises to her, and Jason caressing Naomi’s hand as she told him how much he means to her. Both of them teared up, as did many of their guests (and their celebrant may have – just may have –  had goosebumps) as they promised to honour each other, the love the share and the life they have made together for the rest of their days.

We signed the register then the bridal party exited to the most appropriate song possible – You’re My Best Friend by Queen.

Darin Collison Photography

Darin Collison Photography

Congratulations again, Mr and Mrs C. I hope you know how much you both brought to my life by allowing me to be part of your day. I feel so lucky to now be able to call you my friends. Thank you, modern technology, for introducing us! Sending you both much love and joy. xx Koren

Naomi and Jason, 29 September 2012
Venue: Potters Receptions
Photographer: Darin Collison Photography
Celebrant: Koren Harvey

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

