One month married – a reflection

One month. Or, more accurately, five weeks and one day. That’s how long it has been since Dave and I stood in front of all the people we love and made our marriage vows to one another.

In the lead-up to the wedding, amidst the planning and preparation, I didn’t give much thought to how I would feel after the wedding. Actually, that’s a lie. I did give it some thought – I worried that I would have a massive wedding hangover; becoming mired in sadness because that one, magical day was now over. I thought I would spend my days fervently wishing that we could go back to being engaged. But I haven’t.

Because being married is so much better, so much more fulfilling, so much more joyous than being engaged.

It is so much more than I thought it would be.

26318_10151582503125918_2032328578_n

On the face of things, marriage wasn’t going to change our life together. We had already been living together for over four years and all of our long-term plans included each other. We felt loved and accepted by one another, safe and comfortable. I am known to Dave’s niece and nephew as Aunty Koren and my parents have long considered Dave a son. Neither of us was naive enough to assume that being married would make us more committed to one another, but much to our mutual surprise, something has shifted.

I remember standing at our reception just before we made our speech, looking out over a room filled with the people we love. There was an energy in that room that I can’t quite describe. It was like a pot of water just before it hits the boil – rolling, sitting just under the surface. You can feel it but not quite see it.

That energy was made up of love and hope and faith and happiness, and to realise that it was all on our behalf was humbling. It is a feeling that I hope everyone gets to experience in their lifetime.

Since the wedding, I find myself saying the word ‘husband’ a lot. I like the way it feels on my tongue, the way it fills my ears and the way it envelopes my heart.

I like knowing that in marrying, we have become part of a tradition shared with my grandparents and parents.

I like knowing that our love for one another has been marked in the pages of history and will still be there for our descendants to see in centuries to come. Whatever other stories about us survive, they will know we loved each other.

Our love feels deeper and more intimate. We feel closer to one another. Our relationship has subtly and almost imperceptibly grown. It’s wonderful.

I didn’t think it possible that our life together could get even better.

Never before have I been so happy to realise I don’t know everything.

 

Image by Warren Photography

Comments

  1. Happy Wife, Happy Life!

    Seems you’re kicking goals Koren – Congratulations – and .. you both look so exquisitely in love here ( and you look stunning! ) xx Lea

  2. hbfotografic says:

    Congratulations Koren! Such beautiful words and a wonderful image
    ( this may be a double up comment .. apologies if i’ve posted twice! 🙂 )

  3. I enjoyed reading your beautiful reflection Koren. Lots of Love Anne X0

  4. Thank you, Lea and Anne! We feel so blessed to have the life we do, and to be surrounded by wonderful people such as yourselves. It’s hard to keep the smiles from our faces!

Leave a Reply

